The DTP covers 24 subject areas (‘pathways’), themed into five broad clusters. Different pathways offer students opportunities to:

  • undertake a research Masters’ course followed by a PhD or DPhil (known as ‘1+3’, ‘2+2’ or ‘2+3’ routes)
  • enter directly onto a PhD/DPhil having already completed appropriate Masters-level training (‘+3’)
  • undertake doctoral study over a longer period (‘+4’) in order to gain Master-level training and skills in a flexible and personalised way, meeting individual students’ needs.

Some pathways (including all those at the OU and Brunel University) are available for students studying part-time as well as those studying full-time. Further details are included on the relevant pathway pages. A '+4' route studied part-time would be expected take 8 years to complete.


List of site pages